Thursday, May 29, 2014

Libris Award 2014

The Libris Award honours the outstanding achievements made by authors and editors, sales represantatives and distributors, booksellers and publishers. It is awarded by the Canadian Booksellers Association every year. The winners of the 2014 Libris Awards will be announced on Monday, June 2, 2014.

Awards are presented in the following 13 categories and here are a selection of the nominees:

Amanda Lindhout
Charlotte Gray

Fiction Book
Hellgoing by Lynn Coady

The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper

Non-Fiction Book

Clearing the Plains: Disease, Politics of Starvation, and the Loss of Aboriginal Life by James Daschuk
An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield

Young Reader

Jane, the Fox and Me by Fanny Britt, Illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault
The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten

Picture Book
The Dark by Lemony Snicket
Lasso the Wind by George Eliott Clarke; illustrated by Susan Tooke

Lifetime Achievement

Stuart McLean, radio broadcaster, humorist and author, has been awarded the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award. McLean was praised for his radio show and many books, including the beloved Vinyl Cafe series.

Halifax’s Woozles Children’s Bookstore, Canada’s oldest Children’s Bookstore, and King's Co-op Bookstore are on the shortlist!

No comments:

Post a Comment