Wednesday, May 20, 2009

2009 Edgar Awards announced

Mystery Writers of America is the premier organization for mystery writers, professionals allied to the crime writing field, aspiring crime writers, and those who are devoted to the genre. They are the sponsors of the prestigious Edgar Award

First awarded in 1955, and named after Edgar Allan Poe, these awards are presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America to honour the best in mystery fiction published in the past year.

The Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in the mystery writing field. This prestigious and highly coveted award was established to recognize those authors who have consistently created important and high quality contributions to the mystery field. 

The 2009 Grand Masters were announced to be James Lee Burke and Sue Grafton.

The winner for best novel was “Blue Heaven” by C.J. Box.

The winner for best first novel was “The Foreigner” by Francie Lin.

For previous Edgar Award winners search the library catalogue under subject 'Edgar Award'.

No comments:

Post a Comment