Saturday, May 31, 2014

The Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize 2014

The Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for 2014 has been announced.

This prize honours comic fiction which best represents the spirit of P.G. Wodehouse.

This coveted prize awards the winner with not only a jeroboam of Bollinger Special Cuvée, a case of Bollinger La Grande Année and a set of the Everyman Wodehouse collection, but in addition the book's title will grace a Gloucestershire Old Spot pig.

This year's winner is Lost for Words by Edward St. Aubyn.

"A hilariously smart send-up of a certain major British literary award. The judges on the panel of the Elysian Prize for Literature must get through hundreds of submissions to find the best book of the year. Meanwhile, a host of writers are desperate for Elysian attention: the brilliant writer and serialheartbreaker Katherine Burns; the lovelorn debut novelist Sam Black; and Bunjee, convinced that his magnum opus, The Mulberry Elephant, will take the literary world by storm. Things go terribly wrong when Katherine's publisher accidentally submits a cookery book in place of her novel; one of the judges finds himself in the middle of a scandal; and Bunjee, aghast to learn his book isn't on the short list, seeks revenge." Discover

The other nominees are:

Jeeves and the Wedding Bells by Sebastian Faulks
Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding
The Last Word by Hanif Kureishi (unavailable)

Straight White Male by John Niven (unavailable)

The Thrill of it All by Joseph O'Connor

No comments:

Post a Comment