Saturday, May 24, 2014

Atlantic Book Award Winners! 2014

The Atlantic Book Awards Society has the mandate  “to promote and acknowledge excellence in Atlantic Canadian writing and book publishing through an annual awards ceremony and related events.”

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children's Literature
Nix minus One by Jill MacLean

Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association's Best Atlantic Published Book Award

Ni'n na L'nu: the Mi'kmaq of Prince Edward Island by Jesse Francis and A.J.B. Johnston

Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing
Black Loyalists: Southern settlers of Nova Scotia's first free black communities by Ruth Holmes Whitehead

Dartmouth Book Award for Non-fiction in Memory of Robbie Robertson
Scapegoat: the extraordinary legal proceedings following the 1917 Halifax Explosion by Joel Zemel

Democracy 250 Atlanttic Book Award for Historical Writing
The August Gales: the tragic loss of fishing schooners in the North Atlantic, 1926 and 1927 by Gerald Hallowell

Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award
Fallsy Downsies by Stephanie Domet

Lillian Shepherd Award for Excellence in Illustration
Susan Tooke for Lasso the Wind: Aurelia's Verses and Other Poems by George Elliott Clarke

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award
Turn Us Again by Charlotte R. Mendel

PEI Book Award for Fiction
Riptides: new island fiction by Richard Lemm

PEI Book Award for Poetry
The TWIG Collective: a gathering of Twigs by P. Susan Buchanan and Margot Maddison-MacFadyen

No comments:

Post a Comment