Sunday, April 6, 2014

5 Fiction Titles to Look for this April

It's another month where it's been hard to narrow my list to just five titles: so much great looking fiction to be released this month. Here's what has looked interesting to me -- if there's something you are looking forward to, add it in the comments below!

We'll start with two follow up novels from authors whose last books were  runaway hits. The Swedish author who penned The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared  Jonas Jonasson, is back with The Girl Who Saved The King Of Sweden. We've been unable to keep up with demand for the author's first book, we anticipating fans of it will be looking for this one and have stocked up accordingly. In the same vein popularity-wise, but of a very different style is The Other Story by Tatiana de Rosnay (April 15), author of the hugely popular Sarah's Key. Get your hold in early and beat the rush! And while you're waiting for those two, here's three more that might be of interest.

Medicine Walk by Richard Wagamese (April 1): First Nations author
Wagamese has  The Canada Read's winning Indian Horse  that made him a household name. Back with a new book, this is sure to jump to the top of lots of "to be read" lists. "[A] stunning new novel that tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. Franklin Starlight is called to visit his father, Eldon. He's 16 years old and has had the most fleeting of relationships with the man. The rare moments they've shared haunt and trouble Frank, but he answers the call, a son's duty to a father. He finds Eldon decimated after years of drinking, dying of liver failure. Eldon asks his son to take him into the mountains, so he may be buried in the traditional Ojibway manner."

The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon (April 8). For folks who like
to think about the meaning of our digital age, here's a thriller that will keep you speculating. "In the not-so-distant future, the forecasted "death of print" has become a reality. Bookstores, libraries, newspapers, and magazines are a thing of the past, as we spend our time glued to handheld devices called Memes . Doug is a staunchly anti-Meme intellectual who fondly remembers the days when people used email to communicate - or even actually spoke to one another for that matter. One evening, Doug disappears leaving a single writen clue: ALICE. It's a code word he and his daughter, Anana, devised to signal if one of them ever fell into harm's way."

Falling by Emma Kavanagh (April 22). Thriller fans take note: a debut
from an author who is a former police psychologist and that the publisher thinks will be perfect for fans of Nicci French and S. J. Watson. "A plane falls out of the sky. A woman is murdered. Four people all have something to hide. Jim is a retired police officer, and worried father. His beloved daughter has disappeared and he knows something is wrong. Tom has woken up to the news that his wife was on the plane. Cecilia had packed up and left her family. Now she has survived a tragedy, and sees no way out. Freya is struggling to cope with the loss of her father. But as she delves into his past, she may not like what she finds." Is this the next surprise hit you've been waiting for?

No comments:

Post a Comment